Jim
Tiffany
Bailey
Jim
Tiffany
Bailey

Jim

Title: Captain (at least while I’m on the boat I am…usually)

Role: Boat maintenance, keeping the crew sound and calm (hardest part of my job), musical entertainment (recently took up guitar), more boat maintenance, ensure the liquor cabinet is stocked at all times.

  • Born in Dallas, Texas in 1968 and I have remained a true Texan (Go Cowboys!) even after living in California for 8 years
  • Graduated from the University of Texas, Dallas with a degree in Business Management
  • I had a career in technical staffing in the semiconductor industry for 17 years
  • My introduction to adventure travel was Tiffany inviting me (meaning daring me) to Chile to raft the #1 ranked whitewater rafting river in the world. So, after only 3 dates and no rafting experience at all, I said what any sane person would say…”Sure.”  I’ve never looked back.
  • Avid Ice Hockey player and fan (Go Stars!) Think they have hockey rinks in the islands? I’ll take my skates just in case.
  • Greatest adventure travel thrill was bungee jumping off a bridge over the Zambezi River while in Africa. It is one the highest bungee jumps in the world at over 400 ft!
  • I started taking sailing lessons in 2004 and absolutely fell in love with it. Tiffany gave me the book Cruising in Serrafyn which introduced me to the concept of “cruising.” Here we are two years later selling everything we own to go cruising…go figure!
  • Tiffany picked me up at a job fair we were both working at in October of 2000 and we had our first date (I call it “The Inquisition”) on November 1. The rest is history.

Why am I game for this latest adventure?  Growing up, I liked to read and watch Westerns. The cruising lifestyle really reminds me of the cowboy’s freedom to roam the plains and be self-sufficient. Hence, our boat’s name Blue Plains Drifter.


Tiffany

Title: First mate (aka Swabbie)

Role: Head chef, writer, athletic activity coordinator, maker of the “lists” and most likely to challenge the captain and/or conspire to mutiny in conjunction with the ships’ kitty, Bailey.

  • Born in York, Pennsylvania in 1968 and I have been a Philadelphia Eagles fan ever since.
  • Moved to San Jose, California at the age of 17.
  • Graduated from West Valley and San Jose State Colleges with degrees in Business Psychology.
  • As a result, my professional career has been in Human Resources as a Human Resources Generalist/Manager and Systems person.
  • Late in my twenties, I developed a strong affinity for sports and sports related travel. Sport interests include: road biking, kickboxing, whitewater rafting, kayaking, backpacking, rock climbing, yoga, skydiving, tennis, horseback riding and, of course, sailing. These interests have expanded my US travel to over 20 states, including a host of National Parks, and internationally have taken me to more than 25 countries.
  • Highlight of the sports resume is our climb of Mt. Kilimanjaro in 2002 followed closely by rafting the 3 largest rivers in the world and logging more than 10,000 miles of cycling in CA, WY, MT, NM and the Canadian Rockies.
  • Consistent with my love of water, I took my first sailing lesson in the spring of 2005.
  • Jim and I eloped on a sailing vacation with friends in the Grenadine Islands in November of 2005.

Why am I game for this latest adventure? Because I don’t have an answer for the question “Why not?” and the gypsy in me gets eager for new excitement every couple of years and this certainly fulfills that need.


Bailey (aka Shark Bait)

Title: Best, most spoiled, pampered, prima donna kitty ever

Role: Whatever I want it to be

  • Born August 30,1993
  • A Birman breed which gives me the coloring of a Siamese but with longer hair (and hence, hairballs which can end up on dad’s stuff).
  • Named Bailey after mom’s favorite drink, Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • Weighing in at a whooping 6 ½ lbs, full grown
  • Hobbies include: sunning myself, napping, rubbing my front pads on things as if I’m sharpening them, meowing (even though the cat books say my breed doesn’t meow much), forcing my way on to mom and dad’s lap for napping even when they’re doing other things (like eating or typing on the computer). I love Sunday football! It means I get to sleep on mom or dad’s lap in front of the TV for hours at a time.

Why am I game for this latest adventure? As long as I’m with them and they do as I want, I’ll be happy anywhere. Besides, I already have them trained. I wouldn’t want to start over with new parents.